Ten teams from around world are one step closer to $1 million innovation prize

One year ago today, GSK announced its Bioelectronics Innovation Challenge – a $1 million prize to the first team to generate a small, implantable, wireless device that can record, stimulate and block functionally-specific neural signals to and from a specific visceral organ in functional models. In September, GSK created a $5 million Innovation Challenge Fund for teams to apply for support in their efforts to solving the challenge.

After a rigorous review of 25 applications from across the globe, the GSK Bioelectronics R&D team selected 10 teams to receive support from the Innovation Challenge Fund. The awarded funding, subject to final agreement of contractual terms, will go towards de-risking key components of the proposed solution and generating detailed plans for the development of an integrated device that meets the Innovation Challenge criteria. The selected teams are:

  1. Robert Shepherd (Bionics Institute, Melbourne, Australia), John Furness (Melbourne Medical School, University of Melbourne, Australia),  Janet Keast (Melbourne Medical School, University of Melbourne, Australia), James Fallon (Bionics Institute, Melbourne, Australia), Natalie James (School of Biomedical Engineering, University of New South), Kostas Hazianestis (EC and Associates Pty Ltd, Australia), Zoran Mijasavic (EC and Associates Pty Ltd, Australia),  Edmond Capcelea (Team leader: EC and Associates Pty Ltd, Australia)
  2. Tim Gardner (Boston University) and Bryan McLaughlin (Team leader: Micro-Leads Inc)
  3. Stuart Cogan (University of Texas, Dallas), Silvia Conde (CEDOC, NOVA Medical School, Portugal), Philip Troyk (Illinois Institute of Technology and Sigenics Inc), Glenn DeMichele (Sigenics Inc) and Mario Romero-Ortega (Team Leader: University of Texas, Dallas)
  4. Robert Gereau (University of Washington), Stephen Lewis (Case Western) and John Rogers (Team Leader: University of Illinois)
  5. Daniel Freeman, Andrew Czarnecki, T.S. Sriram and Anil Achyuta (Team Leader: Draper Laboratory)
  6. Vassiliki Giagka (University College London, UCL); Andreas Demosthenous (UCL), Dai Jiang (UCL); Alejandro Carnicer (Cambridge University), Sam Hilton (Cambridge University), James Fawcett (Cambridge University), and Nick Donaldson (Team Leader: UCL)
  7. Stéphanie Lacour (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland) , Qing Wang (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois (CHUV), Lausanne, Switzerland), and Qiuting Huang (Team Leader: ETH Zurich)
  8. Yen Shih Cheng, Gawin Dawe, Angelo H All, Einar Wilder-Smith, Vincent Lee Chengkuo, Percy Luu, Sudip Nag, Rangarajan Jegadeesan, Ng Kian Ann, Srinivasu V Puttaswamy, Elliot Greenwald, Sanghoon Lee, Anoop Patil and Zhuolin Xinag, Nitish Thakor (Team Leader: SINAPSE, University of Singapore)
  9. Polina Anikeeva (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Joshua Smith, (University of Washington), Bingni Brunton (University of Washington), Greg Horwitz (University of Washington) and Chet Moritz (Team Leader: University of Washington)
  10. Kenneth O (UTD), Dane Grasse (UTD); Seth Hays (UTD), Alexandra Joshi-Imre (UTD), Xiling Tang (UTD); Wooyeol Choi (UTD), Terry Sculley (Texas Instruments), Wei-Yan Shih (Texas Instruments), Leonardo Estavez (Texas Instruments), Robert Rennaker & Walter Voit (Team Leader: University of Texas, Dallas).